Joanna Hamer – Juta Shoes

I’m Joanna! I run Jutas Shoes, a social enterprise that employs marginalised women in London to make sustainable leather espadrilles. We support women who face a number of barriers to work and provide them with sustainable and supported employment, training and opportunities. We work with eco-friendly jute soles, and source our leather from local factory offcuts that would otherwise end up in land-fill.

P_20170309_221037_1_pI also work in the marketing and communications team at Wellcome Collection and teach English as a second language.

I’m about to leave my full-time job to work on Juta, and I was really excited about the opportunity to meet other social entrepreneurs and get inspiration, support and feedback from everyone. Having run the business for nine months, I’ve also learned so many valuable lessons so far, and I’d love to share them with others if it can be helpful.

I’m hoping to meet other entrepreneurs, learn about a part of the world I’ve never been to, and escape the rain in London for a week!

I’ve loved seeing the town, meeting all the other participants on the programme, and learning about the history of Ourense.

I love the tapas family-style eating here in Spain!

Leave a Reply

