Michael Makinde – TiTo & FILF UK

I am Michael Makinde, i’m based in Hoxton, London. Firstly I run a social enterprise called Tito which aims to empower young people to become their passion. One of the solutions that Tito is hoping to provide allowing young people to follow their dreams by preventing students coming out of university and getting into jobs they are not passionate about, instead through TiTo we allow people to have an alternative option to chase their passion whilst fighting against unemployment. I also run an e-commerce platform called FILF UK, here I collaborate with artists around the world putting their custom artwork on merchandise, such as digital art, hand painting on garments.

I also run an e-commerce platform called FILF UK, here I collaborate with artists around the world putting their custom artwork on merchandise, such as digital art, hand painting on garments.

I applied to be a part of the programme because I felt it would be an opportunity to grow. Not only to grow but to learn how TiTo could be used in Ourense, but this is also a sense of market research, as a form of testing the global demand for our social enterprise. I also feel this experience was pivotal as it provided me with the chance to discover like-minded individual from the UK who have created amazing businesses.

17155499_10158476620270061_3411235635888672900_nI hope that by taking part in the exchange, I am able to gain a better understanding of the social issues in Ourense and draw comparisons to those that exist in the UK and I am able to define the problems that exist in Ourense and finding opportunities throughout the programme to find solutions.

So far this experience has been an eye-opening, because certain things like social media we take for granted in the UK is something that can really be capitalised on here in Ourense. In regards to work, unemployment is universal, this is especially useful to me due to the company that I run TiTo.One of the things that have really made me proud is that there are a collective group of people who want to better the future of Ourense, the core focus of these projects is to create social impact, in comparison to monetary gain.

One thing that I have learnt about Spanish culture is that Family matters. If you can create something that is family orientated in Ourense I think it would be highly beneficial. Everywhere I’ve been I always see people together, there are rarely people by themselves.

For more on Michael and his work with TiTo or FILF UK follow him via Instagram and Facebook now.

Leave a Reply

