Ladifatou Mandou – Neursica

I am Ladi, I have been living in London for over 5 years and I currently work in market research at Heathrow Airport. I have a strong interest in charity and social enterprise management. I have a lot of experience in volunteer management and fundraising management and have I worked with British Heart Foundation as part of their events team and with French Red Cross where I was managing a team of volunteers and setting up fundraising events as well as with Action Against Hunger, Doctors of the World UK and Artisans du Monde, which is a fair-trade charity that sells fair trade products.

I would like to use my wealth of experience to launch my social enterprise Neursica, which is a health care system in hope to implement in schools in Cameroon. We believe that healthcare should be the right of every individual on the planet not just the wealthy or privileged.

Our vision is world where all young people get access to the right health education and treatment they need to stay well, thrive and play and important role on a local and global stage. My focus is on children, I hope to use my social enterprise to allow them to access better health care services and reduce poverty and increase life expectancy.

I saw an advertisement online for this opportunity and I was attracted immediately. I have an interest in social enterprise management and I also wanted to connect with other people who have the same interest as me. I also wanted to gain some knowledge, ideas and to grow as a leader.I hope that by taking part in this program I can become more confident in my ideas, as well as meet people who have positive energy and who are fighters so they can inspire me to achieve my goals and become successful.

IMG-20170308-WA0014I hope that by taking part in this program I can become more confident in my ideas, as well as meet people who have positive energy and who are fighters so they can inspire me to achieve my goals and become successful.

I was a bit low before coming to Ourense on this program, so this was a chance for me to feel uplifted and inspired again. As well as meet people from different backgrounds who have different objectives but also want to make great things happen in the world, just like me.

Whilst being on the program, I have had the chance to meet talented trainers who spoke about social enterprise and how things work in the co-operative sector which was very interesting to me. I knew a little about the co-operative world, but I learnt a lot through his presentation which inspired me a lot. He was able to answer the questions I had. We visited a franchise in Ourense called Neenoos which provides early development skills for kids as well as

The trainer was able to answer the questions I had. We visited a franchise in Ourense called Neenoos which provides early development skills for kids as well as Aixina which looks after disabled people. Both of these projects were very inspiring to me and from this, I have learnt not to give up as well as to believe in myself and my dreams and can also do it.

I have seen that Spanish people eat late and it is a different culture compared to France. We love food, but we have smaller portions and we do not eat late at night or in the afternoon. Spanish people are very sociable, welcoming and happy people. But, I would like to learn Spanish so I can enjoy more of the country.

For more on Ladi plans to make healthcare more accessible to all, follow her on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

